Posted by: Melissa Bane Sevier | June 29, 2010

Singing Just Because

          Mockingbirds are common as dirt in the South (five southern states name them as their state bird), but they have always amused and delighted me. 

          These birds can learn short snippets of songs, each of which they repeat several times before moving on to the next one.  They not only mimic other birds, they repeat the sounds of insects and amphibians. 

          We have one this year who seems ever-present.  I think he (I believe it is a male, because the literature says the males are the more aggressive singers) and his mate must have a nest somewhere in our yard.  He seems to sing all day and much of the night.  Most of the time, he perches somewhere on our roof or on the weathervane, and just sings his heart out.

          No matter what I’m doing or thinking about, no matter how much stress I’m under or how big a hurry I’m in, when I hear our mockingbird, I break into a grin.  He makes me remember that there is always something worth singing about.

From Psalm 30:  You have turned my mourning into dancing; you have taken off my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, so that my soul may praise you and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks to you forever.

© Melissa Bane Sevier, 2010

Our Mockingbird
Responses

  1. Nice to see a preacher use “common as dirt” instead of ubiquitous. Too many (particularly those who preach in robes) don’t bother to put it down on the bottom shelf so everybody can get a hold on it. Good on ya!

  2. WOW, I have mockingbirds in my back yard on Long Island, NY and my heart has never taken their song in as you have done. Maybe I will now.

    Just outside of church last summer, we couldn’t approach the door without getting dive bombed by a mockingbird guarding its next in one of our tall landscape bushes. We worked around it, and took cover and hurried inside till the babies fledged. They did not return this summer.

    • Thanks, Ken. And thank you, Jane, for both your comments.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

