Posted by: Melissa Bane Sevier | August 3, 2010

Leave the Light On

Be like those who are waiting for their master to return from the wedding banquet, so that they may open the door for him as soon as he comes and knocks.    –Luke 12:36 

The light in our garage is burned out.  It’s the one that comes on when the garage door is opened, and it’s on a timer so you can get into the house before it automatically cuts off.  It’s been burned out for a while, but that doesn’t matter too much in June and July because the days are long and darkness isn’t really an issue.  I do notice it, though.  Every day I think, “I need to fix that bulb.”  As I move on to other things, I forget. 

One night a couple of weeks ago, I came home quite late and it was already dark.  I knew I’d have to leave the car’s headlamps on until I could get into the house, so I didn’t trip on the steps.  But as I turned into the drive, I saw that my husband had turned on the outside lights.  We don’t leave those lamps burning very often, because we prefer to conserve the electricity.  That evening I was grateful for the illumination of the steps for safety, but that act of hospitality also gave me a familiar feeling of welcome after a very long day.  Sometimes the smallest act of caring can remind us of the bonds we share. 

Hospitality for strangers and guests is a great thing.  Hospitality for the ones we love, or for those with whom we share a home is something often forgotten, or smothered by the other occupations of our days.  Of course they know I care about them.  I don’t have to show it all the time.  I get busy.  I forget.  I just don’t do it. 

We don’t mean to take them for granted.  It just happens over time. 

If we expect God to make a home in our hearts, we have to be hospitable.  We watch for the signs of God working in the world.  We set the table with our prayers.  We light the candles of expectation.  We fill the glasses with hope.  We listen for God’s footsteps.  Then we open the door with anticipation and faith, and welcome God to the center of our being.  

This week, don’t forget to be hospitable to the most important people in your life.  And don’t forget to welcome God in with faith, prayer and hope.   

Leave the light on, and be ready to open the door.  

© Melissa Bane Sevier

Responses

  1. Great blog! Thanks for the inspiration. I love the “leave the light on” metaphor for our hospitality toward God.

  2. Loved it. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

