Posted by: Melissa Bane Sevier | January 26, 2011

Walk.

He has told you, O mortal, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?   Micah 6:8

This time of year, I become a lot more conscious of walking.  Walking is normally a pretty natural thing.  I don’t think much about it when I put one foot in front of the other.

We’ve had a lot of snow and ice lately, though, and walking sometimes takes more concentration.  The church parking lot can be really icy, and the floors are slippery when people track in snow on their shoes.  Even at home, when I go out to the mailbox, I’m careful on the porch steps, then walk through the yard to avoid cement and pavement.  Once in the yard, walking is fun, but different.  I like to make interesting footprints, to take long strides, to jump (when the neighbors aren’t around), and then to retrace those same prints back to the house. 

Walking with God can be treacherous, easy, fun or difficult.  Sometimes it requires great concentration to decide what is the right thing to do, how to act in a tough situation.  Sometimes it’s easy; we know exactly what to do from the beginning.  Sometimes it’s frightening, because walking the right path can lead to change. 

But we continue to walk with God anyway.  The more we walk, the more at ease we become, even on the slippery days. 

© Melissa Bane Sevier, 2011

Responses

  1. My architecture colleague Dick Levine has reminded me that walking is our most tactile way of interacting with our world. It is surprising how crucial our feet and steps are to assessing the world around us. From time to time, I misgauge the last step going down into our basement to do laundry. For a moment I am embarrassed. But on second thought, it recalls to me how our legs have inherited our sense of familiarity with our surroundings even above our eyes.

    When I was just into me teens, I loved to walk along the Hudson River near my family’s home. Before and after you got across the railroad tracks, the area before the river was wooded. I loved walking along and hearing the crunch of old leaves and easing around low-hanging braches of trees. It was a reminder that I was a visitor to this wooded area, not its master. I often found myself thinking about the most personal, human, and spiritual things. Things about my family, my latest heart ache, my God-given gift of life, and my apprehension about death–especially, if I had lost a loved one. The weather these days has not been kind to us, least of all for walking. I miss it!

    I think it is because the act of walking frees us from dwelling long on the everyday concerns of our mundane life and liberates the mind to focus on intimate matters of faith and the heart. I suspect I would sleep better and more easily if I took more walks. As this meditation suggests, even when we walk alone, we often feel the quiet presence of God inside us and beside us–gently and patiently listening to us.

    PS–Last Wednesday, the choir got caught up by accident in singing the old, but popular song, “When You Walk Through the Storm?” Some parts are a little hokey, and we made it sound pretty schmaltzy. But the last three lines do make a parallel point:

    Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart
    And you’ll never walk alone
    You’ll never walk alone.

    • Ernie: You should have written this blog–your comments are lovely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

Ricky Tims Creative

Cultivating Creativity Together

Georgetown Pediatrics

Caring for your children.

My Journey as a Newcomer in Canada

New country, new life, new discoveries - A peek into the mind of a Canadian immigrant

itnbluegrass

Just another WordPress.com site

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

