Posted by: Melissa Bane Sevier | January 29, 2013

The aerial view

When Paul talks about love, it sounds a bit lofty.  Elevated, really.  Almost perfection.

Which is odd, because he’s talking to a church that is anything but perfect.  Those Corinthians could argue!  About food, about worship, about… well, everything.  I’m sure no one today would argue about anything trivial.  Nooooo.

Paul has had about enough of their arguing, so he writes this poem.  Or maybe he’s quoting a poem or song familiar to the Corinthians.  That doesn’t really matter.  What matters is that it’s about love.  Love described in idealistic terms.

If I give away all my possessions, and if I hand over my body so that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing. Love is patient; love is kind; love is not envious or boastful or arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice in wrongdoing, but rejoices in the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.

If I were writing about love, expressed in community, it wouldn’t be so idealistic.  I’d probably say things like:  Love is hard; love is complicated and messy; sometimes love is almost impossible.

But Paul is wiser than I.  He gives us a lofty, aerial view, so that when we get back on the ground we remember not just what love is, but what love is supposed to be.

Above the clouds of conflict and stress, we imagine the beauty, the simplicity, of loving each other despite our conflicts and differences.  So that when our feet hit the dirt again, we have the ideal in mind as we attempt to put love into action.

The aerial view.

Love on the ground.

Maybe someday they’ll actually be the same thing.Aerial view, blog, copyright

© Melissa Bane Sevier, 2013

Responses

  1. “Muncle” died Monday night in his sleep. His name was Dr. Ferrol Sams, Dr. and author of Run with the Horseman, Whisper of the River, Christmas Gift, and others. His wife, my aunt Helen was Mother’s only sister. In spite of being a doctor also Sambo and Helen had 4 kids in 5 years. Mother said they flunked family planning or didn’t know anything about sex.
    Both taught me about love and forgiveness. Sambo loved my brother enough to ask him if he is a Christian, just the other day. My brother, a neurosurgeon, was gratified over the concern. He said to me, “I hope to be as loving as my dog and show unconditional love to everyone.” Maybe the heavenly and earthy (notice, it isn;t earthly) can meet in Hobo, Sylvester, and our dear Fletcher.


Leave a Reply

Categories

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

Ricky Tims Creative

Cultivating Creativity Together

Georgetown Pediatrics

Caring for your children.

My Journey as a Newcomer in Canada

New country, new life, new discoveries - A peek into the mind of a Canadian immigrant

itnbluegrass

Just another WordPress.com site

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

